Kenneth Hugdahl: Auditory hallucinations – To hear voices that do not exist

Event Start Date:
4. November 2016
Event End Date:
4. November 2016
Event Venue:

Prof. Kenneth Hugdahl is a Swedish-born psychologist (phD from Uppsala University in 1977) and a pioneer in fMRI research in Norway and Scandinavia. In 1984 he was appointed professor at the University of Bergen. He is currently the Head of the Bergen fMRI Group which initiated use of functional magnetic resonance imaging (fMRI) in neuroscience in Norway and the Nordic countries in the 1990s.

November 4th, 2015

18.00 – 18.05   Opening by representative of The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters

18.05– 18.10   Introduction by Professor Johan F. Storm, Neurophysiology, University of Oslo

18.10– 19.00   Lecture by Professor Kenneth Hughdal

19.00– 19.10  10 minutes break

19.10– 20.00   Panel discussion and questions from the audience


Poster HUGHDAL i FBF-DNVA 4 Nov 2015


Poster HUGHDAL i FBF-DNVA 4 Nov 2015

The research of Prof. Hugdahl and the Bergen fMRI group ( is focused on brain activation studies related to a broad spectre of cognitive functions, including laterality, speech and language, working memory, attention, cognitive control and emotions, depression and aging. The group is also involved in research related to morphometry, perfusion/diffusion imaging, diffusion tensor imaging, spectroscopy, EEG and neuroinformatics, using a range of statistical tools and software. A particular focus for the fMRI Group is on the study of auditory hallucinations in schizophrenia, and dichotic listening studies of cognitive control

Bergen fMRI Group is the recipient of an European Research Council Advanced Grant (ERCAdG) through professor Kenneth Hugdahl in 2010.


Notable publications include Psychophysiology: The Mind-Body Perspective (1995), Experimental Methods in Neuropsychology (2002) and The Asymmetrical Brain (2003). He also edited the Scandinavian Journal of Psychology from 1990 to 2004

He was a member of the Research Council of Norway from 1988 to 1989, and of the MacArthur Foundation from 1990 to 2000. He is a member of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *